States have reacted quickly to Sydney’s snap lockdown, urging people who visited the affected council areas before travelling elsewhere in the country to immediately quarantine and “stay where you are”.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian announced on Friday that four Sydney local government areas would enter a seven-day lockdown at midnight after the state announced 22 new local cases, bringing the total number of active local cases to 70.

From 11.59pm Friday, people who live or usually work in the Woollahra, Waverley, City of Sydney and Randwick local government areas must stay at home, only permitted to leave for a handful of essential reasons.

Queensland was quick to implement tough restrictions at its border following the announcement, with health officials urging anyone in Queensland and who had been to the affected council areas since June 11 to “follow the same lockdown rules”.

“If you have been to one of the four local government areas, from 1am tomorrow on June 26 you must stay where you are and only leave for the permitted purposes,” Queensland chief health officer Dr Jeanette Young said.

“But I’m asking you to be sensible – if you‘re one of these people, please don’t rush off to another location on holiday – if you do, you’ll still need to follow these rules wherever you are.

“I am also now backdating the hotspot declaration for those four LGAs to 1am on June 11 – this means any Queensland residents returning home after 1am tomorrow who have been in these hotspot LGAs in the past 14 days will go into hotel quarantine.

“Any other travellers who have been in these hotspot LGAs in the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter Queensland except for a limited range of essential reasons.”

Dr Young also said anyone moving between the cross-border zones of NSW and Queensland needed to complete a Queensland Travel Declaration from 1am on Monday, June 28.

“There are now 210 exposure venues in New South Wales and that’s concerning due to many of these cases being infected by fleeting contact,” she said.

The ACT extended its stay-at-home order to anyone who had been in metropolitan Sydney.

“For non-ACT residents who are in greater Sydney and surrounds, our message is simple: do not travel to the ACT,” an ACT government statement read.

“For people from metropolitan Sydney in particular, you will not be able to enter the ACT without an approved exemption.

“Exemptions will only be granted for extraordinary circumstances, and even if an exemption is approved, you will still be required to follow the stay-at-home order in the ACT.”

Anyone who was seeking to travel from metropolitan Sydney to the ACT after 4pm on June 25, and who had previously completed an ACT declaration form, must now seek an exemption to enter the ACT.

The requirements will remain in place until 11.59pm on Friday, July 2.

Meanwhile, South Australian health authorities were keeping a close eye on the Covid-19 situation in Victoria after the state recorded two new local infections on Thursday.

The South Australia State Coordinator and SA Health advised on Friday anyone intending to travel to South Australia who had been at any of the Tier 1 and Tier 2 public exposure sites should “reconsider their travel”.

“They will be placed into quarantine upon their arrival and until SA Health can make a determination on what further action to take,” a South Australia Police statement read.

This will be done on a “case-by-case basis”, with further advice promised later on Friday.